Attempting poetry… and attempting a post

I was born in Alberta…
in Edmonton
When twelve we moved away…
Red Deer
Calgary
now Lethbridge
In the past I’ve often longed for one place to call home…
Now I’m content being:
Albertan
Canadian

My ancestors moved too…
Across the ocean from Holland in the forties and fifties
They lived through the war there…
Came to Canada to fight another war:
little money
endless hard work
language barriers
no education
but a new home 

‘Work hard and do well’
‘get an education, be a professional’
‘plan, save, think’
‘remember and learn’
‘your faith is the center of your life’ 
My parents were raised on principle

they modeled them
and taught me to value them too… 

I grew up knowing the importance of things that happened in the past
and came to love history and politics
I grew up with faith central to our home
and it became my own
I grew up surrounded by many family and friends
and I came to cherish relationships
I grew with reading and studying and inquiry all around me
and I have never stopped learning

Sometime I think too much
I try to do too much
I hurt my friends
I forget what is important
I become very sad
but my God fulfills me
and I am growing 

Always…
Quieting myself to be humble
Walking down a country road
Feeling the wind in my face
Reading and thinking and reading some more
Learning to ‘be’ and not to ‘do’
Holding deep friendships
Loving long talks
Glorying
in
my
Saviour

1 Response to “Attempting poetry… and attempting a post”


  1. 1 Alison December 29, 2009 at 4:05 am

    your blog is neat and so are you 🙂

    love you 🙂


Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


