Puzzles and Me

When I make a puzzle I relish the beauty of order, of symmetry, of the simple pleasure and fulfilment of finding perfect and right pieces. The processes is slow, thoughtful, careful – but always secure and right. Despite initial confusion, I have full assurance of eventually finding the right piece, at the right time, for the right spot. With a satisfied sigh, pieces find their way home, falling into place before my eyes.

My family laughs at me. They tell me I’m addicted to puzzling (though it’s a pleasure I only indulge in once a year at Christmas – hardly a worrisome addiction, I argue). But in truth, I am hopelessly taken up with putting things together rightly, strangely intoxicated with the pleasures of bringing order from chaos. How much time, anguish and energy I spend striving (often vainly) to bring order to my heart, my mind, my emotions, my life. What I long for in my life I find somewhat fulfilled through the thousand little pieces scattered across my table; I see a little picture of the design of my soul and picture of my life.

This may be a stretch, and if so, I appolgize. 🙂 But bear with me for one more moment…

What is more beautiful than ‘rightness’, of the utter contentment of finding oneself fitting into a perfect place of worship and communion with God. My life is one small puzzle piece, designed to fit only into a place surrounded on every side by my saviour. I only know true fulfillment when the pieces of my life are placed firmly and correctly by the One who made me. I only know true joy when I find that one perfect place of fulfilment in glorifying God. I was made a being ever failing unless my heart… my mind… my soul are directed fully and forever upward.

1 Response to “Puzzles and Me”


  1. 1 thoughts from the sock drawer.. January 12, 2010 at 4:18 am

    you really did wait until it was perfect. i love it.. makes SO much sense, you are so totally right. hmm.. yeah, makes me think 🙂


Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


