My silence

If there is anyone out there reading this (and I kind of hope there is), you may have wondered about my silence.

Sometimes God brings us in and out of strange places, and for a time life stands still. I’ve been silent, as my little heart and head wander through some forests. Don’t worry; even among the trees, I can always look up and see little pinholes of light (when I remember to look)! But I digress.

Today I read a blog post on silence – the silence we need and our hearts long for. So, from my time of silence, I’ll share it with you.

http://www.aholyexperience.com/2010/03/when-you-are-afraid-of-silence.html

3 Responses to “My silence”


  1. 1 Alison March 13, 2010 at 5:54 am

    like like like that link.. fo sho πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Miss Lynne March 19, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Wonderful reminder! πŸ™‚
    Beautiful music too…if only I could figure out who plays it.

  3. 3 D-sizzle June 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Love it.
    Have you read any Thomas Merton??
    If not, he was a Trappist Monk who wrote a LOT about silence. Some of it is really incredible.
    Here’s one of his silence poems (only one I could find online)

    In Silence:

    Be still.
    Listen to the stones of the wall.
    Be silent, they try
    to speak your

    name.
    Listen
    to the living walls.

    Who are you?
    Who
    are you? Whose
    silence are you?

    Who (be quiet)
    are you (as these stones
    are quiet). Do not
    think of what you are
    still less of
    what you may one day be.

    Rather
    be what you are (but who?)
    be the unthinkable one
    you do not know.

    O be still, while
    you are still alive,
    and all things live around you

    speaking (I do not hear)
    to your own being,
    speaking by the unknown
    that is in you and in themselves.

    β€œI will try, like them
    to be my own silence:
    and this is difficult. The whole
    world is secretly on fire. The stones
    burn, even the stones they burn me.
    How can a man be still or
    listen to all things burning?
    How can he dare to sit with them
    when all their silence is on fire?”

    Thomas Merton

    Come to Rocky Mountain Houuusse!!


Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


