When there is nothing else to say…

Many serious posts are building up in my head, but tonight’s not the time to write any of them. I’m sick, losing my voice, and feeling a little overwhelmed with the task of subbing for next two days WHITHOUT the ability to raise my voice if needed. Although it’s not even 9:00, my one thought is crawling into bed.

SO…

I’d like to simply share some verses with you. Years ago I heard the story of a pastor I greatly respect who, in the early days of his preaching career, would simply read Bible passages from the pulpit, so overcome by its truth and feeling inadequate to share words of his own. Although my love for God’s Word needs to be daily cultivated, I identify strongly with this story in that there are many passage that FEED my soul mightily every time I turn to them. Hence the myriad of little yellow stickies in the pocket Bible that often makes its way into my bag on those rougher mornings.

The following is one of these passages. I’m definitely not saving the ‘best for last.’ Right at the beginning of this blog marathon and I’m sharing the crème of the crop.

8 But you, Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
the offspring of Abraham, my friend;

9 you whom I took from the ends of the earth,
and called from its farthest corners,
saying to you, “You are my servant,
I have chosen you and not cast you off”;

10 fear not, for I am with you;
be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
– Is. 41:8-10

Now to sleep.

Any advice on the best way to get voices back QUICKLY??

2 Responses to “When there is nothing else to say…”


  1. 1 Alison March 23, 2011 at 4:26 am

    I love how you said ‘feed my soul mightily”- such a good way to put it, and a perfect choice of verse to express that feeling.. 🙂

    nice blog pnut 🙂

  2. 2 Crystal Canfield March 25, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    I’m feeling very encouraged after reading those verses…thanks:)


Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


