On Teaching and Lost Voices

Let me begin by making clear my general dislike for ‘sappy’ quotes. I hope the one I’m posting today doesn’t fit into that category in anyone’s mind. The fact is, I taught two grade six classes today that were… interesting. I had a weak voice at the beginning of the day, and keeping twenty five youngsters in line all day resulted in my current croaking state. I was informed tonight by a sweet little person that I ‘sounded very sick.’ ALL THAT to say – I’m tired, worn out, and have little wisdom to shed on this day spent with students who seemed born to try a teachers’ patience. Thus, I’m going to be a lame blogger once again (I have so much to learning about this blogging thing) and post a quote. I hope you don’t think it’s trite – to me it sums up what I believe many teachers feel every single day.

From the teacher who can no longer speak:

In teaching you cannot see the fruit of a day’s work. It is invisible and remains so, maybe for twenty years. ~Jacques Barzun

Cheering?

0 Responses to “On Teaching and Lost Voices”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


