Wishing to look ahead…

I just returned home from a super lovely tea with friends, and was all ready to crawl into bed. THEN I remembered this blogging thing. 😉 Opps.

Tonight you’re going to get a short, rather personal post.

Do you like making decisions? It really is not my favourite thing to do. Life right now feels like navigating my way through mountains of minuscule – and some rather large – decisions. Playing a complicated hand of cards is a good way to describe work life. Where do I apply for jobs… Which schools do I sub at? Which do I say no too? If I open this door, I’m closing all these others, and there is no guarantee the path leading out from any door has a job waiting at the end.

It might sound kinda simple – but it really feels (is) quite complicated!

I guess this is where resting in Christ comes in? Thankful for that reality. AND opening (and holding open) as many doors as I possibly can. I feel stretched.

If you think of it, please pray for wisdom and direction – maybe the ability to ‘see ahead’ a little bit.

2 Responses to “Wishing to look ahead…”


  1. 1 Karen March 29, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    The book of James tells us to pray for Wisdom. As I pray I want to expect to receive the Wisdom I am praying for. I sometimes pray that I will recognize it!!

  2. 2 Anton March 29, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    Hey Laura, good to see you blogging. Decisions, decisions. They can be an invitation to open up to the will of God. I’m always touched by a prayer of bl. John-Henry Newman:

    Lead, Kindly Light, amidst th’encircling gloom,
    Lead Thou me on!
    The night is dark, and I am far from home,
    Lead Thou me on!
    Keep Thou my feet; I do not ask to see
    The distant scene; one step enough for me.

    And the full poem here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lead,_Kindly_Light

    Something that speaks to your heart?


Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


