“The Valley of Vision”

From a historical perspective (and at times a religious one) Puritans are usually given a negative wrap.

Yet, they left behind so much deep and abiding wisdom. Due mainly to vibrant personal prayer lives, Puritan writings are making a bit of a comeback in modern Christianity. Maybe you’ve come accross this title: The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions. (You can order it on Amazon!)

Part prayer book, part devotional, this compilation of short passages present a very truthful look at the human condition and the overwhelming grace of God.

This is the first in the book… (hence its name)

Lord, high and holy, meek and lowly,
Thou hast brought me to the valley of vision,
where I live in the depths but see they in the heights;
hemmed in by mountains of sin I behold they glory.

Let me learn by paradox:
that the way down is the way up,
that to be low is to be high,
that the broken heart is the healed heart,
that they contrite spirit is the rejoicing spirit,
that the repenting soul is the victorious soul,
that to have nothing is to possess all,
that to bear the cross is to wear the crown,
that to give is to receive,
that the valley is the place of vision.
Lord, in the daytime stars can be seen from the deepest wells,
and the deeper the wells the brighter thy stars shine;
Let us find they light in my darkness,
thy life in my death
thy joy in my sorrow
thy grace in my sin
thy riches in my poverty
thy glory in my valley.

0 Responses to ““The Valley of Vision””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


