Sleep

I am a firm believer in the importance of sleep. Physically (and as a result mentally and emotionally) we NEED it.

This passage from Valley Of Vision touches on the spiritual significance and metaphors of sleep, and reminds us again that God desires us to REST in Him. We strive for His glory by first and foremost resting in His grace.

From Valley of Vision:

Blessed creator,
Thou hast promised they beloved sleep;
Give me restoring rest for needful for tomorrow’s toil.
If dreams be mine, let them not be tinged with evil.
Let they spirit make my time of repose a blessed temple of thy holy presence.

May my frequent lying down make me familiar with death,
        The bed I approach remind me of the grave,
        The eyes I now close picture me of their final closing.

Keep my always ready, waiting for admittance to thy presence.
Weaken my attachment to earthly things.
May I hold life loosely in my hand,
        Knowing I receive it on condition of its surrender;
As pain and sorrow betoken transitory health,
        May I not shrink from a death
        That introduces me to the freshness of eternal youth.
I retire this night in full assurance of one day awakening with thee.

All glory for this precious hope,
        For the gospel of grace,
        For thine unspeakable gift of Jesus
        For the fellowship of the trinity.

Withhold not they mercies in the night season;
               Thy hand never wearies
               Thy power needs no repose,
               Thine eye never sleeps.

Help me when I helpless lie,
              When my conscience accuses me of sin,
              When my mind is harassed by foreboding thoughts,
              When my eyes are held wake by personal anxieties.

Show thyself to me as the God of all grace, love and power;
Thou hast a balm for every wound,
A solace fro all anguish
A remedy for every pain
A peace for all disquietude.
Promise me to commit myself to thee awake or asleep.

0 Responses to “Sleep”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


