Thrown on the Mercy Seat

When life closes in and temptations (to despair, to give in, to let my mind dwell where it shouldn’t) mount, where do I take myself?

Do I allow myself to be swallowed in the abyss of my own troubled mind and heart? Or do I reach for help from the only true source?

Isaiah 41:14
Fear not, you worm …
I am the one who helps you, declares the LORD;
your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel.

I falter, hesitate, and fall. God tells me gently I don’t have to – I can cast myself on the mercy seat of Christ.

God asks for holiness from his children. Thankfully, He understands this is something we cannot, in any way, do alone.

When temptation comes, do I cry out to the only one who really cares, and who can actually save me from myself moment my moment? Am I willing to humble myself, put aside my pride in my own abilities and ask for His help to keep on track? Do I really desire to be made into his likeness?

Today, I’m throwing myself on the mercy seat of Christ.  He created it for me… all I need to do is come.

0 Responses to “Thrown on the Mercy Seat”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


