Through a Glass Darkly

Life can be tricky, can’t it? If only choices were always simple and clear. If only life came with an owners manual. If only my scattered mind didn’t attempt to consider hundreds of random factors at once.

Today I had to make a simple decision – to take an offered job, or not. Many little things to consider, and my human inability to know the future, and consequently make the `perfect` choice, soon became obvious.

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. – 1 Corinthians 13:12

This girls has never been especially good at making decisions. Perfectionist to the core, accepting the dark glass stretches my trusting abilities. I would so rather KNOW where God is taking me, and have clear, audible directions from Him.

And yet when I seek Him I do receive little glimpses of the right path. He gives just enough light for the step I`m on. And you know, I think I`m okay with that.

So tonight:

I’m thankful. For wise, rational people who help untangle my harried thoughts.

I’m comforted. By the knowledge that God directs my path even when I fail to see.

I’m secure. Knowing God’s promise to faithfully provide will not return void.

I`m at peace with my answer of `no`

2 Responses to “Through a Glass Darkly”


  1. 1 Keila April 15, 2011 at 3:08 am

    This is such a common struggle among many of us, we stress about the right decision, all along God gently showing us the way. Then when we’re through it all, we look back and think how obvious it was that we should have taken the route we did, because God had a plan. Laura, I’m so glad you’re trusting Him 🙂 He’ll show you the way.

  2. 2 Gail April 16, 2011 at 12:20 am

    Michael told me I should take a look at your blog–that I’d like it. So I looked at it for the first time today. I’m so curious about that job that you did or didn’t take. But really, it’s the trusting Him through the making of the decision that is the big thing isn’t it? Of course He’ll get You where you are to go when you are willing.


Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


