Holy Week

We might associate Holy Week with Catholics, but it’s a tradition shared by our Anglican friends as well. There is something reverent, thoughtful, even beautiful in the traditionalism of a ‘holy week’ leading up to Easter.

After all, Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection are the essence of our faith. Christmas is special, but Easter is the moment of fruition for God’s plans for His world.

Part of me wishes for candle lit services, complete with solemn liturgy and moments of reflection, to really impress upon me the significance of God’s call to remember.

But… I’m not Catholic. And really, I don’t think they do much of that anymore, either.

So I’ll have to muddle through myself.

Yesterday Jesus was hailed as a king, entering Jerusalem.
In only four short days He will face the cross.

Does my heart turn this fast? Is it so unfaithful?

Yes Lord, it is. Humble me this week, as I prepare to discover anew the depth of your sacrificial love for me. Thank you, for going to the cross…

The first reading of Holy Week: Isaiah 42:1-7

Behold my servant, whom I uphold,
my chosen, in whom my soul delights;
I have put my Spirit upon him;
he will bring forth justice to the nations.

He will not cry aloud or lift up his voice,
or make it heard in the street;
a bruised reed he will not break,
and a faintly burning wick he will not quench;
he will faithfully bring forth justice.

He will not grow faint or be discouraged
till he has established justice in the earth;
and the coastlands wait for his law.

Thus says God, the LORD,
who created the heavens and stretched them out,
who spread out the earth and what comes from it,
who gives breath to the people on it
and spirit to those who walk in it:

“I am the LORD; I have called you in righteousness;
I will take you by the hand and keep you;
I will give you as a covenant for the people,
a light for the nations,

to open the eyes that are blind,
to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon,
from the prison those who sit in darkness.

0 Responses to “Holy Week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

From the granted path…

Ramblings from my head and heart, aiming to reflect glory on the One who is my Saviour.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


